Why I Will Be Keeping My “Guns Up”

As a passionate Texas Tech student, the common phrases like “Wreck ‘Em Tech” and “Guns Up” are something I will never be ashamed of.

I chose Tech because of how much school spirit this University has flowing through not only the campus, but throughout the town as well. Your four years (or five) in Lubbock, Texas as a Red Raider are full of welcoming people who throw up the well-known hand signal that represents “Guns Up”.

As a Junior who is beginning to reminisce on my time in this flat, lovely city, I will always hold close to my heart the connections this small hand signal has brought me. The memories of the long drives home and having cars passing by seeing my Texas Tech sticker, encouraging them to throw up their Guns, made me feel at ease. Knowing that my fellow Red Raiders were also out making their way home helped my Freshman mind relax and feel a little bit more safe.

When I would travel to places other than Lubbock and I was proudly wearing a shirt that represented Tech, I would get comments like “Wreck ‘em!” followed with a quick wave of their “Guns Up”. Some of these people were current college students, others were proud older alumni, and some were even children who have dreams of attending Texas Tech. A few of my most memorable conversations with a stranger all started because this signal brought us together. Instead of feeling like strangers, we already had an intimate connection as Red Raiders. We had something in common that others around us did not have and we were proud of that.

On game days, you can feel the spirit in the air. The town is painted in black and red with the chants of “RAIDER, POWER” echoing down University as fans make their way to the Jones AT&T stadium. Chills and excitement over power you and the stadium as you’re pumping your Guns in support at the beginning of every game as the football team runs out of the smoky entrance onto the field. Lastly, holding your guns up high as you sing the Alma Mater is a sign of respect and passion Red Raiders and fans do at the end of every game.

These are all reasons why I will continue to keep my Guns Up.

The hand signal is not meant to be a negative thing at all. As someone who has a strong opinion on gun control,  (and no I will not tell you my stand on it because frankly it doesn’t matter when it comes to this) or on the appropriateness of this phrase, the hand signal that is meant to be nothing but a symbol for the University should simply stay as that. “Guns Up” was created to show opponents your school spirit, and a unique way to show others how proud you are of where you come from by using nothing but your pointer finger and thumb.

 

So to all my fellow Red Raiders, Wreck ‘em and GUNS UP.

IMG_6154.JPG

Leave a comment