Cherish Friendships, Cherish Life

2017 was one heck of a year to remember.

I had as many successes as I did failures, a much-needed break up that led me to find the right man God wanted in my life, and the closing of two leadership positions that helped me grow stronger and gain experience.

I have learned a lot of lessons this past year, but one particular lesson that I promised to make my 2018 New Year’s resolution: To love everyone just as much as God loves them.

“As I have loved you, love one another” John 13:34

During the last month of 2017 I almost lost 3 of my best friends related to very different things and all I could think about was how I could’ve been there for them more.

Each one of those friendships is different than the other, but I know I could have called more, or met up for lunch more or checked up to see how they were doing more often.

I knew there was more that I could’ve done to show them all how much I value each of their friendships. I had this horrible feeling in my gut that I wasn’t going to be able to express this to any of them although I was sure they all already knew.

I was fortunate enough to have been able to tell two of my friends how much I cherish their friendship, but I am still waiting for my chance to tell my last friend and I’m praying that I get the chance to.

 

So if you are struggling with a friendship my advice is,

 

  1. Never skip out on the chance to catch up with an old friend.
  2. Forget any drama that tore you apart and forgive and forget
  3. Never leave anything unsaid. Let everyone know how much you love them because you never know when you might not be able to.
  4. Sometimes it’s time to go your separate ways but always leave on a good note so you regret nothing 

 

Here’s my promise to 2018, to build my friendships stronger and loving others and myself as much as He loves us. To never leaving any type of relationship on a negative note because you never know what can happen. Lastly, to living life to the fullest and with no regret.

I am ecstatic to start applying my PR skills in my new communications internship with the Chamber of Commerce, to grow in my relationship with God and to apply all of his knowledge and understanding in all areas of my life.

 

Thanks 2017, but cheers to 2018 and to all that awaits!!

 

Love,

Carson

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment