Why loving a dog has changed my life.

Why loving a dog has changed my life.

1. He is there for you in the tough times.

Having a dog there when boys suck, friends grow distant and life is just throwing you all sorts of curve balls, is one of the best feelings ever. You have a shoulder to cry on and somehow they understand when you need them most. They will be there when no one else can be.

2. He is a constant friend to do things with.

Any time I want to go out and do something and none of my friends can, I can throw on a pair of tennis shoes and take him out. I can go in the back yard and play with him for hours. I can lie in bed, and binge watch Netflix with him cuddled up right next to me. No matter what I am in the mood for, he will always be down to do it with me.

3. He keeps a smile on my face.

I can’t stay mad at my dog for long because he is always doing something to make me smile. He hops when he runs, paws at my face for attention and has one of the sassiest attitudes that just will smack a smile right on my face. He messes up, and so do I. But life is short (especially for our furry friends) and staying mad takes away time to make happy memories.

Side note: Nothing they ever do that you think is so horrible in the moment will keep you mad at them forever. You will almost always look back and laugh at what they did.

4. He is always listening.

Whether I am practicing a speech for class or venting about a problem I know he’s there to listen. Sometimes you just need someone there to talk their ear off and then be okay. He will move his head side to side and his ears will perk up, he sometimes barks or growls just to make sure I know he agree’s with me and is listening.  The best part is, you can trust that he won’t tell anyone…

5. He does not judge (sometimes).

Okay lets face it, he does judge me. He will walk into my room, give me a side eye and will walk away. But that just ties back into number 3. He judges me for the dumb things and doesn’t for the big ones. He never makes me feel less than I am.

6. He taught me how to love.

Yes, my parents mainly taught me how to love but loving a dog has taught me how to be selfless in love. Every dog I have ever owned has loved me selflessly and unconditionally. They have mended my heart and have also broken it when their time has come to move on out of this world. The worst heartbreak I have ever experienced was when I had to say goodbye to one of my best friends. But also one of the greatest loves I have ever known was from years of time spent with him.

 

My advice to you,

So to any of you debating whether or not you should get a dog, do it if you have the resources, time and love to support your pup.

I recently put down my best friend of 14 years and I thought I could never reopen my heart to another dog because I didn’t want that pain again. But all the years of fun, laughter and unconditional love trump the pain of that moment. I am now the proud owner of a sassy, almost two-year-old, 110-pound ball of love and my heart has made lots and lots of room for him.

If you are taking that step and getting a puppy, promise him or her one thing: That you will love them their entire lives.

Through the cute puppy stage to the rebellious teenage stage.

From the torn up shoes and eaten trash to the cute snuggles and cuddles.

Through the times when they start to move a little slower and sleep a little longer.

Lastly, to be strong enough to listen to them when they are ready to go and to be there with them when they do.

Never regret getting a dog when those tough times come, because there will be tough times. If you make that one promise to them, to love them no matter what, your time with them and their life with you will bring you some amazing memories.

Leave a comment